Hit and Run Laws in Shenandoah, Virginia
Running away from the scene of an accident is referred to as Hit and Run, which is a very serious crime in Shenandoah, Virginia. Whatever is the reason behind the accident, the law imposes certain actions for both drivers and the passengers. The penalties and duties of running away from the scene of an accident depends whether you were the passenger or a driver. The hit and run is charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, but it depends heavily on the circumstances in Shenandoah, Virginia. Whether it is a case of attended or unattended vehicle or it is a case of property damage, the punishment of the charge can be incarceration, heavy fine or a suspension of the license.
The laws for Hit and Run in Shenandoah, Virginia are as follows:
|Injury/ Property Damage||Attended or Unattended||Class of the Offense|
|More than $250 property damage.||Unattended||Class 1 Misdemeanor|
|Less than $250 property damage.||Unattended||Class 4 Misdemeanor|
|Death or injury||Attended||Class 6 Felony|
|Property damage||Attended||Class 1 Misdemeanor|
Laws for driver Hit and Run, Attended Vehicle
- Stop immediately, close to the accident without blocking the traffic.
- Assist the injured person by taking the person to the hospital or to the nearest physician.
- Head to the police department immediately and provide your name, your address, license number and registration number.
If you are found to be guilty of the charges then you have to bear the expenses incurred by law enforcement, rescue service, firefighting service and emergency services. (Under Virginia code 15.2-1716).
Laws for driver Hit and Run, Unattended Vehicle
As the Driver:
VA code 46.2-896 imposes that, if someone hits and unattended vehicle or cause a property damage then the person must do the following things:
- Find the owner of the property.
- A. If you find the Owner: It is your duty to provide your name, your address, license number and registration number.
- If you cannot find the Owner: It is again your duty to leave a note with your information such as name, license number, address, contact number, email id and registration number of the vehicle. Provide the same information to the nearest police station.
Laws for passenger Hit and Run, Attended Vehicle
It is not only the driver’s duty to follow all the rules and regulations, it is also passenger’s duty to make sure that the driver submits the report containing all the information that is required by the law.
Accident Resulting in Injury or Death
VA code 46.2-371 imposes that the driver who is responsible for the accident should immediately inform the police department about the situation. If the driver runs away from the spot the driver will be charged of Class 4 Misdemeanor.
If you are the one who is charges with Hit and Run, just head to a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. To avoid jail sentence or to save your license contact the best defense attorney of SRIS Law Group, P.C. Lawyer.
Find us at 888-437-7747