Child Restraint Laws in Henrico Virginia
Car seats for infants and children are meant for their safety in case of a crash. According to the child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia, children are required to be buckled up in a car seat, which is made according to their age. Any child who is not in a car seat, is at the risk of getting injured or even killed in case of crash or a sudden stop, even if you are driving at a really slow speed. The arms of the parents may not be strong enough to secure a child if there is a car accident. It is most possible that the child will slip from your arms if the car suddenly stops or crashes. The child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia requires that every child who is below the age of eight must be placed in an appropriate safety restraint system according to their age. There are different types of seats used, depending on the age of the child and type of the vehicle. If you are new parents living in Henrico Virginia, it is extremely important to know about the child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia.
Until you have celebrated the 8th birthday of your child, it is mandatory to use child restraint device in your car. It is essential to use appropriate safety seats, which are approved according to the standards of Department of Transportation. The child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia are exclusively based on the age of the child, irrespective of the height and weight. It is mandatory to place the rear facing child restraint device in the back seat of your car. In case, you own a vehicle without a backseat, you can place the child restraint device in the front passenger seat, only if the vehicle does not have a passenger side airbag or it is properly deactivated. Under no circumstances, children can travel in the rear cargo area of a vehicle.
The child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia are applicable to any person whether they are the parents, grandparents, any other relatives, friends and babysitters driving with a child in any vehicle. The only exception is provided to the public transportation such as buses and taxis and school buses. The child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia is a primary enforcement, which means that no other violation is required prior to issuing a traffic ticket against failure to have a child in the approved seat while driving. A civil penalty fine of $50 is imposed for violating the child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia for the first time. A second time or subsequent violation for the same can be fined up to $500. The fines collected against the violation of the child restraint laws in Henrico Virginia go into a special fund to purchase car safety seats for children of low income families.